Year 7 & 8 Program

Students in Years 7 and 8 at Glen Waverley Secondary College study a common curriculum which encompasses the eight Learning Areas:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Humanities
  • Health and Physical Education
  • Arts  (Arts and Design, Drama and Music)
  • Technology (Integrated Technology and Design Creativity and Technology)
  • Language (One of Chinese, French, Italian or Advanced Chinese)
The program offered for Years 7 and 8 has been designed to meet the diverse educational needs of the students and to provide them with stimulating and valuable learning experiences.

Over the two year period, students will gain experience in a range of studies within each learning area.  This will provide them with a sound basis for their continuing studies. Most subjects in Years 7 and 8 run for an entire year, however, Art and Technology subjects are offered for one semester each year.  All students follow the same curriculum program. 

Selected students are provided access to English as an Additional Language (EAL) support.  These students are given assistance in small “similar needs” groups to increase their English communication skills and to assist them with their language based core subjects.

Learning Area Year 7 Year 8
English/EAL 5 ppw 5 ppw
Mathematics 5 ppw 4 ppw
Science 3 ppw 3 ppw
Humanities 3 ppw 4 ppw
Health & Physical Education 3 ppw 4 ppw
Arts Art & Design 4 ppw
Drama 3 ppw
Music 3 ppw
Art & Design 3 ppw
Music 3 ppw
Technology Integrated Technology 4 ppw Design, Creativity & Technology 4 ppw
Languages Chinese, French or Italian
3 ppw
Chines, French, Italian or English as an additional language
Living & Learning 1 ppw 1 ppw